Open/Close Menu
Path To Anandam
  • Facebook
  • Youtube
  • Linkedin
  • Google+
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Dear Path to Anandam Friends,

Goddess Durga, the symbol of Pure Love, Pure Energy and Divine Light (Jyoti)”
Symbolism/Significance of Goddess Durga’s 8 Hands with Weapons and Her Teachings
(To listen music click on)
Description: Trinity
“Devi Sampad Vimoksaye”
Divine Qualities/Noble Qualities → Moksha

Goddess Durga, the Supreme Goddess, is the embodiment of Pure Love, Courage, and Divine Light “Jyoti” (Shakti/Energy, Bhakti/Devotion and Mukti/Liberation). She is referred to as the Universal Mother and symbolizes the Divine forces (Positive Energy) known as Divine Shakti (feminine and creative energy) that is used against the negative forces of evil and wickedness.

Goddess Durga represents the power of the Supreme Being that preserves moral order and righteousness in the creation. She protects mankind from evil and misery by destroying evil forces (negative energy and vices – Arrogance, jealousy, prejudice, hatred, anger, greed and selfishness).

Goddess Durga is depicted as a warrior woman with eight hands carrying weapons of different kinds (used in different situations), assuming mudras, or symbolic hand gestures that represent her teachings.
  1. Chakra in her 1st upper right hand symbolizes Dharma-Duty/Righteousness: We must perform our duty/responsibilities in our life.
  2. Conch in her 1st upper left hand symbolizes the Happiness:  We must perform our duty happily and cheerfully and not with resentment.
  3. Sword in her 2nd right lower hand symbolizes eradication of vices with discrimination:  We must learn to discriminate and eradicate our vices (evil qualities).
  4. Bow and arrow in her 2nd left lower hand symbolizes character as Lord Rama:  Whatever difficulties we face in our life we should not lose our character (values).
  5. Lotus Flower in her 3rd lower left hand symbolizes Detachment: We must live in the world without attachment to the external world as a lotus flower stays in dirty water yet remains detached, smiles and gives its beauty to others. This is the only way to qualify to receive Her Blessings.
  6. Club in her 3rd right lower hand is the symbol of Hanumanji (devotee of Lord Rama) and symbolizes Devotion and Surrender: Whatever we do in our life we should put love and devotion to it and let go of the outcome as almighty’s will.
  7. Trident/Trishul in her 4th left lower hand symbolizes Courage:  We must have courage to eliminate evil qualities in us and face the challenges in our life.
  8. 4th lower right hand symbolizes Forgiveness and Her Blessings:

Forgiveness: We must forgive ourselves for any mistakes we may have made and others for their mistakes and/or any hurt they may have caused us.

Mother Goddess’s Blessings: When we follow Her teachings and become purified then Her Blessings will be showered upon us.

Durga Maa rides on lion or a tiger. A tiger symbolizes unlimited power. Durga riding a tiger indicates that She possesses unlimited power and uses it to protect virtue and destroy evil.  The Lion is a symbol of uncontrolled animalistic tendencies in us (such as anger, arrogance, selfishness, greed, jealousy, desire to harm others etc.) and Her sitting on him means control these qualities, if not we could be controlled by them.

She is usually shown wearing a red sari.  The color red symbolizes action and the red clothes signify that She is always busy destroying evil and protecting mankind from pain and suffering caused by evil forces.

Meditation and prayers :– We must meditate and pray to Universal Mother, asking Her to use Her destructive power to destroy all imperfections and faults and purify us to become a receptacle of her Divine Shakti -Anandamayi Shakti.

“May Goddess Durga Bless You and Your Loved Ones”
The Path to Anandam Team
Copyright © 2017 Path To Anandam TM

All Rights Reserved Path to Anandam

Follow us: