What is Yoga?

Union with God/Self – Self-Realization
Sanskrit root verb yuj = to unite, to connect,
Yoga, the State of Bliss is freedom from miseries
and sorrows, cycle of birth and death, bondage of
karma-“cause and effect”; and experiencing eternal
love, peace and happiness, “Sat Chit Ananda.”
Oneness of body, mind and soul is Yoga

Oneness of body, mind and soul is Yoga


Yoga is Equanimity/Serenity of the mind
– Bhagavad Gita


How to attain the True Yoga
through Practicing Raja Yoga (Eight-Limbed Path)
Remove obstacles, quite the mind though practicing
eight limbs/steps of Raja Yoga.


Yoga is 99% practice and 1% theory.
~Sri Krishna PattabhiJois


Eight limbs/steps to Raja Yoga:

1. Yama : Universal morality
2. Niyama : Personal observances
3. Asanas: Body postures
4. Pranayama : Breathing exercises, and control of prana
5. Pratyahara : Control of the senses
6. Dharana: Concentration and cultivating inner perceptual awareness
7. Dhyana : Devotion, Meditation on the Divine
8. Samadhi : Union with the Divine This yoga (all eight steps) must be practiced with firm determination and perseverance, without any mental reservation or doubts to attain the True Yoga. (Gita. 6.23)